domain field

Use this forum to report bugs and to check for bugfixes and new releases of OpenEMM

Moderator: moderator

percivalg
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:51 am

domain field

Post by percivalg »

I dont know if its a bug or what, but I found a problem with the statisics page displaying my open rate stats.

On the Delivery Statistic, the Open mails stats displays the total number of email recipient who read your mailings, when you click the Open mails link it will show the specific domains who have read the mail.

At first when I was making my test mailing, open mail stats are displaying the correct counts of who openned my mails,
Delivery Statistics:

Open Mails: 7
when you click the Open mails link it will
list the domains and how many who have read my mailings are shown correctly,
Opened Mails:

Open rate over time

Domain Opened mails
----------------------------------------------------
fastmail.fm 1
test-account.com 1
yahoo.com 2
gmail.com 1
aol.com 1
hotmail.com 1
----------------------------------------------------
total 7
then when I have finished my test, and have imported my mailing list, adding a new field which is the "domain" field, alphanumerical and length of 100. I noticed my open rate mail stats on my previous mailings has change to this:
Opened Mails:

Open rate over time

Domain Opened mails
----------------------------------------------------
fastmail.fm 7
----------------------------------------------------
total 7
fastmail.fm being the first mailing I have opened and have logged on the open rate. And adding the other domain to fastmail.fm

So after scratching my head so many times, on what wrong steps I have done, I have recalled adding some new fields, and the domain field is included on that field. Since open rate mail are not displaying the domains that have read my mailings, I concentrated my search to domains, on the code and the database.

and found this:
mysql> desc customer_1_tbl;
+---------------+--------------+------+-----+---------------------+----------------+
| Field | Type | Null | Key | Default | Extra |
+---------------+--------------+------+-----+---------------------+----------------+
| customer_id | int(11) | NO | PRI | NULL | auto_increment |
| email | varchar(100) | YES | MUL | NULL | |
| gender | int(11) | NO | | 0 | |
| mailtype | int(11) | YES | | 0 | |
| firstname | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| lastname | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| creation_date | timestamp | NO | | 0000-00-00 00:00:00 | |
| change_date | timestamp | NO | | CURRENT_TIMESTAMP | |
| title | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| datasource_id | int(11) | NO | | 0 | |
| domain | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| city | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| country | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| startdate | date | YES | | NULL | |
| enddate | date | YES | | NULL | |
| plan | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| plantype | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
+---------------+--------------+------+-----+---------------------+----------------+
17 rows in set (0.00 sec)
I have decide to rename the domain field to webhostdomain, rather than changing the word "domain" on the code.
mysql> alter table customer_1_tbl change domain webhostdomain varchar(100);
Query OK, 1059 rows affected (0.23 sec)
Records: 1059 Duplicates: 0 Warnings: 0
mysql> desc customer_1_tbl;
+---------------+--------------+------+-----+---------------------+----------------+
| Field | Type | Null | Key | Default | Extra |
+---------------+--------------+------+-----+---------------------+----------------+
| customer_id | int(11) | NO | PRI | NULL | auto_increment |
| email | varchar(100) | YES | MUL | NULL | |
| gender | int(11) | NO | | 0 | |
| mailtype | int(11) | YES | | 0 | |
| firstname | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| lastname | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| creation_date | timestamp | NO | | 0000-00-00 00:00:00 | |
| change_date | timestamp | NO | | CURRENT_TIMESTAMP | |
| title | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| datasource_id | int(11) | NO | | 0 | |
| webhostdomain | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| city | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| country | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| startdate | date | YES | | NULL | |
| enddate | date | YES | | NULL | |
| plan | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
| plantype | varchar(100) | YES | | NULL | |
+---------------+--------------+------+-----+---------------------+----------------+
17 rows in set (0.00 sec)
after the alter table, I checked again the open rate stats, and It was back to normal.
Opened Mails:

Open rate over time

Domain Opened mails
----------------------------------------------------
fastmail.fm 1
test-account.com 1
yahoo.com 2
gmail.com 1
aol.com 1
hotmail.com 1
----------------------------------------------------
total 7
Is this a bug?
maybe you can change the domain keyword on code to openemm-domain? So that other user can add a "domain" name field on the db, even if they dont read this post.
I hope this post can help other users if they encounter this problem. :D :D
percivalg
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:51 am

version 5.5.1

Post by percivalg »

Oh, my apologies, my openemm version is 5.5.1 on centos5
mysql version:
Welcome to the MySQL monitor. Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 8922
Server version: 5.0.45 Source distribution
thanks
maschoff
Site Admin
Posts: 2608
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 10:20 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by maschoff »

This is a real weird bug. I posted it here:

https://sourceforge.net/tracker2/?func= ... tid=848488
OpenEMM Maintainer
Post Reply