How to manipulate sendmail queues (post all your info here)

Use this forum for questions regarding installation, upgrading and configuration of OpenEMM

Moderator: moderator

Slartibartfast

How to manipulate sendmail queues (post all your info here)

Post by Slartibartfast »

Hello folks,

the "out-of-the-box"-functionalities of OpenEMM astonish me.

The only thing that puzzles me is OEMM's dependency on starting its own sendmail queues. I am kindly requesting everybody to share his/her knowledge in this thread, as there are many sendmail-related questions in this forum, many of them unanswered. Let's work together here.

I should be happy if the answer to my own question should show up in this thread, too. I am fairly new to sendmail.

I have set up a Debian (Etch) server including sendmail 8.13.8 and cyrus 2.2 with saslauth2 over pam and mysql. Sendmail uses 2 mailqueues (/var/spool/mqueue and /var/spool/mqueue.in). The reason for this is a desperately needed mailscanner with spamassassin plus virusscanner installation, which runs perfectly fine. My server is a hosted root server.

Prior to starting OpenEMM, I stop sendmail (as root) and observe:

OpenEMM starts 3 mailqueues, two of which are located in its home directory: "admin" and "test". A third "mqueue-client" can be found in /var/spool. It seems that OEMM'S mailer.sh allows some manipulation of how sendmail is being invoked.

The thing is: the start parameters of the compliant mailqueue "mqueue-client" are coded within an if-clause - and I have no insight into OpenEMM's smctrl and thus do not know how mailer.sh can be changed to comply with my 2-queues-setup.

Can anyone please clarify matters - not only for me, but - for all of us and inform us about the following:

questions to other OEMM users and its developers:

= possible params to be passed through OpenEMM's smctrl

questions to people who are familiar with shell-scripting: