Start From The START!

Use this forum for questions regarding installation, upgrading and configuration of OpenEMM

Moderator: moderator

jaykan

Start From The START!

Post by jaykan »

I have some programming experience...I have made several sites in the past, some of the are replicating with .php...I consider myself a hack, not incompetent, certainly not a pro - but I can always get the job done.

I am looking at these instructions, and they make NO sense to me - any help would be greatly appreciated.

My main problem is how to actually install - I have my hosting with HostMonster, they have CentOS...I have mySQL and Java...and I have a dedicated IP.

I have loaded the files to a directory I called openemm via ftp, I have tried various ways to include the OpenEMM-Installer-1.2.sh file, I have created a tmp folder I have used one in the main directory, I have even tried just leaving the OpenEMM-Installer-1.2.sh in the openemm folder and accessing it - nothing is working for me so far.

So, starting from scratch, please help me here:
1. How should I get the files onto my server - should I make a different name for the directory, can I use FTP etc...
2. what software are we using to 'activate' these scripts - I have tried PuTTY (with the code ./ OpenEMM-Installer-1.2.sh) and just accessing them through a browser, no luck.
3. How do I become this 'superuser' they talk about in the instructions?

sorry for these ridiculous NOOB questions here, but I feel like there is something missing from this InstallGuide_OpenEMM document, particularly at the beginning. It sounds like all I need to do is put the OpenEMM-Installer-1.2.sh file in my tmp folder then change the permissions then run the command - this doesn't work either:

[~/tmp]# chmod u+x OpenEMM-Installer-1.2.sh
[~/tmp]# ./OpenEMM-Installer-1.2.sh start (I found If I didn't use start after nothing happened)
-bash: ./OpenEMM-Installer-1.2.sh: /bin/bash^M: bad interpreter: No such file or directory